Live Update: Tamil Nadu 2016 Election Vote Counting, Expected Result- TN, Kerala, Puducherry Vote Counting

After a long election season, a few short hours will let us know who will win the Tamil Nadu Assembly elections 2016. All exit polls, except one, have given the Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (DMK)-Congress combine the edge over long-time rival, the All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (AIADMK).

The incumbent Chief Minister Jayalalithaa has promised in her manifesto, free laptops to students, mobile phones for ration-card holders, and the expansion of the noon-meal scheme to include breakfast. Not to be left behind in the freebie-race, the DMK too has promised smartphones for poor families and tablets or laptops with internet connections for students.


Polling for Aravakurichi and Thanjavur constituencies have been postponed to May 23, following complaints of widespread bribes. Tenkasi constituency too saw repolling on May 18, after polling officials mistakenly counted votes polled during the ‘mock poll’ period.

Counting of votes in the high-stakes Assembly elections in West Bengal, Tamil Nadu, Assam, Kerala and Puducherry begins this morning at 8 am and the first trends are expected to be available after an hour — at about 9 am. By 12 noon, a clear picture could well emerge of who the winners are.

According to various exit polls shown on TV channels on May 16, Assam, Tamil Nadu and Kerala appeared to have voted for change giving BJP its first government in the northeastern state dislodging Congress which may also lose Kerala. DMK has been tipped to regain power trouncing AIADMK in Tamil Nadu.